top of page

Understanding Qualifications for Medicaid

In this second part of our blog series about health insurance options, we focus on Medicaid.

Most Medicaid eligibility is based on modified adjusted gross income (MAGI). Income eligibility levels are tied to the federal poverty level (FPL). In all states, Medicaid health coverage is available for some low-income people, families and children, pregnant women, the elderly, and people with disabilities. In some states, the program covers all low-income adults below a certain income level. The Federal Poverty Level is determined by the size of a family. For example, in 2022, it is $13,590 for a single adult person, $27,750 for a family of four, and $46,630 for a family of eight.

Income cannot exceed $1,153 per month for an individual. Income cannot exceed $1,546 per month for a couple. Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) income cannot exceed $1,379 per month for an individual.

Medicaid patients get medical care from a variety of sources. Covered medical services include dental, eye and hearing care, lab, and x-ray services as well as renal dialysis and transplant coverage.

The best way to learn more about Medicaid and to stay current on any changing policies, visit the Alabama Medicaid site. You can also apply for Medicaid as well.

To learn more and apply for Alabama Medicaid, visit:


Alabama Medicaid- Applying for Medicaid Benefits:


bottom of page